As part of this, the institute accepts Ph.D. scholars to carry out research under the able guidance of our faculty. We currently have over a dozen research scholars who are registered for their PhDs.  Other students have initiated their work and look forward to being formally registered soon. In parallel with the increasing number of core faculty, the number of research scholars will also increase in the next few years

PhD Scholars

  1. Govind Kumar
    Guide: Dr.Kshitish Acharya
    Thesis Title:  Understanding molecular basis of non-obstructive azoospermia via transcriptomics
  2. Shilpa Harshan
    Guide: Dr. R Srivatsan
    Thesis Title: Regulation of metabolism in the synovium and blood in rheumatoid arthritis.
  3. Sagar Sanjiv Desai
    Guide: Dr. Bibha Choudhary
    Thesis Title:  A bioinformatic approach towards understanding molecular and genetic mechanisms of acute leukemia
  4. Meghana Manjunath
    Guide: Dr. Bibha Choudhary
    Thesis Title: Evaluation of the effect of BCL2 specific inhibitors in Triple negative Breast cancer
  5. Purna Sudha Bindu Ambaru
    Guide: Prof. H S Subramanya
    Thesis Title: Structure and function of an actin binding protein, profiling from Leishmania donovani
  6. Rani Bajaj
    Guide: Dr. Thiyagarajan S.
    Thesis title: Characterization of Leishmania myosin XXI – flagellar protein interactions
  7. Snehal Nirgude
    Guide: Dr. Bibha Choudhary
    Thesis title: Epigenetic regulation of miRNA in breast cancer
  8. G. Goldsmith
    Guide: Dr. Subha Srinivasan
    Thesis title:  Structure and dynamics of RNase H and its substrate complexes: Implications in substrate specificity and recognition
  9. V. Vandana
    Guide: Dr. S. S. Shivakumara
    Thesis title: Characterization of microbial biosysnthesis of carotenoids and other pigments
  10. Poulami Dey
    Guide: Dr. R. Srivatsan
    Thesis title: Role of cytokines and gene variants in rheumatoid arthritis: A systems biology approach
  11. P. Venugopal
    Guide: Dr. R. Srivatsan
    Thesis title: Investigation of inflammatory network systems in rheumatoid arthritis using systems biology approaches
  12. K. Jinsha
    Guide: Dr. Bibha Choudhary
    Thesis title: Epigenetic changes in cancer cell lines induced by natural compounds
  13. Suran R Nambisan
    Guide: Dr. Subha Srinivasan and Dr. Bibha Choudhary
    Thesis title: Identification of Amaranthus hypochondriacus specific microflora through metatranscriptomics of the root
  14. G. Vidya
    Guide: Dr. Bibha Choudhary
    Thesis title: Mechanism of chromosomal translocation in Diffuse large B cell lymphoma and Therapeutics